Home Dine Education Home
San Juan Heritage
People Land Exhibits Timeline Maps
People | Diné | Organization | Navajo Nation Government | Three Branches | Legislative Branch
Navajo Nation Government
  1868 Treaty
  Bill of Rights
  Tribal Code
  Seal & Flag
  Three Branches
Standing Committees
  Navajo Leaders



Legislative Branch - Beehaz'1anii 1l'99 j77

By amending the Navajo Tribal Code, the Navajo Nation took steps to reorganize the Navajo Nation government. The Navajo people also began to gradually take back their essential powers of self-government. The Tribal Code is now referred to as the Navajo Nation Code.

The Legislative Branch consists of the Navajo Nation Council, Office of the Speaker, Office of Legislative Counsel, Office of Legislative Services, Office of Auditor General, Navajo Utah Commission, Black Mesa Review Board, Navajo Nation Labor Commission, Community Services Program, Office of Legislative Personnel, Office of Navajo Government Development, Navajo Election Administration, Ethics and Rules Office, Agency Network Program and the Office of Miss Navajo Nation.

The Navajo Nation Council has the power to govern the Navajo people through the enactment and amendment of laws; approval of expenditures; design and approval of programs to benefit the Navajo people, and to represent the interests of the navajo people regarding matters involving local, state, and federal governments. The Navajo Nation Council also confirms the appointments of Division Directors as recommended by standing committees and presented by the Navajo Nation President. They created and authorized twelve standing committees to direct, monitor and coordinate tasks as assigned and may designate the taxation of entities within their jurisdiction.

The Navajo Nation Council has the power to adopt their own rules of organization, including the adoption of rules, regulations and procedures for the conduct of it's meetings. The Council also establishes the rules and procedures to regulate the conduct of Council Delegates and to discipline their misconduct, including removal for cause.

Duties and responsibilities of each Council Delegate includes reporting periodically to the people of the chapter from which he/she is elected regarding the business and proceedings of the Navajo Nation Council. The Council Delegate must also coordinate with chapter officials to ensure that the needs of the chapter are addressed during Council sessions.

The Navajo Nation Council meets four times per year beginning the third Monday in January, April, July and October of each year. The duration of each session may exceed five working days provided the agenda so requires. All regularly schedules meetings of the Navajo Nation Council are held at the Navajo Nation Council Chambers in Window Rock, AZ.

From: Navajo Nation Government, Fourth Edition, Office of Navajo Government Development, Window Rock, Navajo Nation.


Executive Branch Legislative Branch Judicial Branch


back to top



Navajo word display problems? Please install the Verdana Navajo font, downloadable by clicking HERE.

Any copyrighted materials present are believed to be available through Fair Use. Please contact the Webmaster if you believe something should be removed.

2003 San Juan School District
Questions or comments? Email the Webmaster